Science Club Win Various Awards

Science Club Win Various Awards
Posted on 04/01/2021

The Beckman Science Research team has been working all year on controlled experiments in multiple categories.   Students in grades 7-12 may work as individuals or teams to present their research work in various competitions.  The Keystone/NICC Middle School Science Fair, Iowa Junior Science and Humanities Symposium,  American Junior Academy of Science, Eastern Iowa Regional Science Fair, and State Science and Technology Fair of Iowa were all held virtually this year.  The FFA Agriscience fair was held in person in Des Moines.

Results for each of the competitions follow:

American Junior Academy of Science- National Researcher nominated 1 of 2 from the state of Iowa

Tyler Salrin

Junior Science and Humanities Symposium 2021-

Twelve Iowa students were chosen to present their research.  Three of these students were from Beckman Catholic High School.   Tyler Salrin (senior) was a third time JSHS presenter.  Lauren Cherne (sophomore) presented for her 2nd time at JSHS, and Jasmyn Hoeger  (junior) presented for the 1st time in this event.

Keystone/NICC Middle School Science Fair-

First Place Team- Isaac Burlage and Luke Wessel

First Place Individual-Madelyn Reiter

Second Place Individual-Gabrielle Hoeger

Eastern Iowa Science and Engineering Fair-

EISEF: Senior Champion- Jasmyn Hoeger-$1000 scholarship and will compete in the International Science and Engineering Fair in May

EISEF: Class I, Senior Finalists - Tyler Salrin, Jasmyn Hoeger and Libby Knipper

EISEF: Class II, Junior High Teams - Luke Wessel & Isaac Burlage

EISEF: Class II, High School Joe Schneider

EISEF: Honorable Mention, High School

Addisyn Burlage

John Paul Grebner & Jake Hoefler

EISEF: Participation Achievement Award: 4th Year Student -Joe Schneider

American Meteorological Society: Outstanding Achievement-John Paul Grebner & Jake Hoefler

ASM Materials Education Foundation: Outstanding Exhibit in Materials Science-Joe Schneider

Association for Women Geoscientists: Outstanding Achievement-Ellie Recker

Inspiring Excellence: Alan B. Adams Meritorious Achievement-Gabrielle Hoeger and Evelyn Sadler

NASA Earth System Science Award: Outstanding Achievement-Madelyn Reiter

Ricoh Corporation: Ricoh Sustainable Development-Evelyn Sadler

US Navy and Marine Corps: Naval Science-Madelyn Reiter

State Science and Engineering Fair of Iowa

High School Awards:

Reserve Champion High School – Libby Knipper -$1000 scholarship and will compete in the International Science and Engineering Fair in May

Grand Honorable Mention High School- $500 scholarship and will compete at the International Science and Engineering Fair in May

Grace Helle

Jasmyn Hoeger

Iowa BioTechnology  $2000 scholarships

Libby Knipper

Tessa Tauke

High School Category Awards

Animal Science State Champion - Grace Helle

Behavioral and Social Sciences - 2nd place Trista Schmitt

            Participants- Isabell Kruse and Olivia Mensen

Cellular and Molecular Biology State Champion - Jasmyn Hoeger

Chemistry State Champion - Joe Schneider

Earth and Environmental Sciences – 3rd Place Evelyn Sadler

Energy and Transportation State Champions - Jake Hoefler and John Paul Grebner

Engineering State Champion -Tyler Salrin

Participant Spencer Rea

Microbiology State Champion – Libby Knipper

Plant Sciences-

State Champion Tessa Tauke

2nd place Addi Burlage

Honorable Mention Ellie Recker

Participant – Lauren Cherne

            Special Awards –

            ASM Materials Education Foundation –Tyler Salrin

Ricoh Sustainable Development – Addi Burlage

            Association for Women Geoscientists – Jasmyn Hoeger

            NASA Earth System Award – Tessa Tauke

            Society for InVitro Biology – Jasmyn Hoeger

            U. S. Agency for International Development – Libby Knipper

Middle School Awards-

Reserve Champion Middle School – Gabrielle Hoeger

Broadcom Masters National Competition- Gabrielle Hoeger

Animal Science- Honorable Mention Isaac Burlage and Luke Wessel

Behavioral and Social Science- State Champion Gabrielle Hoeger

Plant Sciences – Madelyn Reiter

Thank you-  The Beckman Science Club would like to thank the Class of 1983 donors for the financial support of our program.  This support has made it possible to purchase equipment and supplies necessary for various projects.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.