State FFA Convention Results

State FFA Convention Results
Posted on 04/22/2019

32 members of the Beckman Catholic FFA represented the chapter at the 2019 Iowa FFA Convention in Ames at Hilton Coliseum on April 15th and 16th.  Results were as follows:

The Iowa FFA Association bestow the official Beckman Catholic FFA charter to the chapter. Alex Loeffelholz represented the chapter in the massing of the flags ceremony. Meanwhile Leah Wessels assisted on courtesy corps. Jacob Besler represented the chapter as the ambassador $1000 challenge award winner. Matthew McCarraher was recognized as a Glenn & Ginger Stark Award winner. Morgan Hermsen was selected and participated in the Iowa FFA Chorus.

Stars over Iowa Finalist in Agribusiness: Collin Knipper

Stars over Iowa Finalist in AgriScience: Lauren Goldsmith

Iowa FFA Degrees were awarded to Alex Loeffelholz, Collin Knipper,Dan Vorwald, Marcus Schneider, Erin Bonert, Kristi Bries, Kaitlyn Goedken, Katherine Grebner, Aaron Knipper and Sean Kluesner.

In the area of Leadership Career Development Events:

RESERVE STATE CHAMPION team in the ag of Ag Impact included Noah Gaul, Libby Knipper, Maddy Kruse, Ellie Recker and Charley Wulfekuhle.

3rd Place in the state in Ag Broadcasting was Abby Klostermann.

In the Greenhand Quiz Jasmyn Hoeger finished 3rd in the state. She tested against nearly 400 other freshman across the state meanwhile Isabell Kruse earned a Silver.

Proficiency Awards were:  

*Avery Tauke- State Champion in AgriScience Integrated Systems advanced to Nationals

*Lauren Goldsmith-State Champion in AgriScience Animal Systems advanced to Nationals

*Sean Kluesner- State Champion in Environmental & Natural Resources advanced to Nationals

*Collin Knipper- Reserve State Champion in Ag Business Entrepreneurship

*Nicole Schilling-Reserve State Champion in AgriScience Plant Systems

Agriscience Fair Division winners were recognized on stage they included: Grace Helle, Lauren Cherne & Leah Thier and Shelby Westhoff.

In the area of Skills Career Development events students participated in the following events:

*Marketing Plan: Advanced to the finals 6th place overall: Erin Bonert, Kayla Bonert and Kristi Bries

*Biotechnology Team: 10th Place in the state: Nicole Schilling, Kaitlyn Goedken, Laina Marbach and Liz Wessel

*Poultry Evaluation team: Austin Jaeger was named top individual in the Live class evaluation. Meanwhile the team of Jaeger, Rachel Friedmann, Matthew McCarraher and Carter Gaul earned a Bronze rating.

*The largest highlight for the chapter was watching SHELBY WESTHOFF be named to the 2019-2020 Iowa FFA Officer Team. Shelby will serve the position of Northeast District Vice President.


Front Row: Jasmyn Hoeger, Erin Boenrt, Leah Wessels, Kristi Bries, Lauren Goldsmith, Ellie Recker, Morgan Hermsen, Liz Wessel, Libby Knipper, Charley Wulfekuhle

2nd Row: Alex Loeffelholz, Nicole Schilling, Aaron Knipper, Kayla Bonert, Rachel Friedmann, Abby Klostermann, Katherine Grebner, Kaitlyn Goedken, Isabell Kruse, Maddy Kruse

Back Row: Noah Gaul, Avery Tauke, Carter Gaul, Jacob Besler, Austin Jaeger, Collin Knipper, Sean Kluesner, Marcus Schneider, Dan Vorwald, Laina Marbach and Shelby Westhoff.